Field School on Khazar Archaeology in Divnogorye

Summer historical-archaeological field school in Divnogorye (Voronezh district, Russia) took place from 26th of June to 3rd of July. The school was organized by “Sefer” Center and the Institute of Slavic Studies (Russian Academy of Sciences), together with the Architectural-Archaeological Museum – Natural Reserve Divnogorye and Voronezh State University; the school was supported by Genesis Philanthropy Group, UJA Federation of NY and Rothschild Foundation Europe.

The territory of Divnogorye reserve has one of the most well-known monuments of Khazarian culture Mayats archaeological complex. The research of this place started relatively early, but only 5-6% of its territory is studied until today.

The participants of this school had a task to distinguish the territory of spreading underground materials (ceramics basically) with definition of possible places of its concentration, that would be perspective for the future researches. Besides the important experience of archaeological works the participants had a chance to learn how to work with ceramics. Our expedition collaborated with another field school (organized by Lipetsk University, under the supervision of professor A. Bessudny).

The participants attended the lectures about the history and archaeology of Khazarian kaganate (by prof. A. Vinnikov, prof. V. Petrukhin, and B. Raskovskiy, PhD); lectures about the ethnogenesis of Khazars and Khazarian languages (prof. I. Peyros and dr. O. Mudrak); lectures about Saltovo-Mayaki culture (S. Vladimirov). Big attention was paid to the history of the archaeological research Divnogorye (dr. E. Zakharova) and its contemporary state, as well as to other important problems of Khazars studies.

One of the participants, Anna Yudkina, recorded several interviews with the local inhabitants. It is planned to make a research about memorialization of the execution place (13 Hungarian Jews were executed in Divnogorye in 1943).

Various walking tours in the caves and archeological sights became an important part of the school. The natural reserve Divnogorye is beautiful and unique place. Workshops on making ceramics and ancient weapon were an entertainment part.

The participants of this field school got new knowledge and skills, received a unique experience. Everybody just fell in love with this wonderful place! The decision of one of the new participants of our programs to call her dog Sefer became a nice surprise for us. Here it is:

The full program of Divnogorye school is here (click on the image)

Photos

ПОЛЕВАЯ ШКОЛА ПО ХАЗАРСКОЙ АРХЕОЛОГИИ В ДИВНОГОРЬЕ

(26 ИЮНЯ – 5 ИЮЛЯ 2016)

26 июня – 3 июля состоялась летняя полевая историко-археологическая школа в Дивногорье (Воронежская область). Школа проводилась Центром «Сэфер» и Центром славяно-иудаики Института славяноведения РАН при содействии Природного архитектурно-археологического музея-заповедника «Дивногорье» (директор М. Лылова, сотрудники С. Кондратьева, С. Владимиров, А. Родионов) и Воронежского государственного университета (проф. А.Винников, доцент Е.Захарова) при поддержке Genesis Philanthropy Group, UJA Federation of NY и Rothschild Foundation Europe.

На территории музея-заповедника «Дивногорье» находится один из наиболее известных памятников салтово-маяцкой культуры (государственной культуры Хазарского каганата) – Маяцкий археологический комплекс, состоящий из городища, селища и могильника. Несмотря на то что данный комплекс начал изучаться одним из первых из числа памятников салтово-маяцкой культуры, на сегодняшний день исследовано около 5–6% предполагаемой территории селища.

         

Перед участниками школы стояла задача проследить площадь распространения подъемного материала (в основном керамики) с возможным выделением мест его концентрации для уточнения границ селища и выявления мест, перспективных для дальнейших исследований. Помимо опыта археологических работ на селище, участники школы получили навыки камеральной работы с найденным материалом. Параллельно нашей школе в заповеднике проходила экспедиция студентов-археологов ЛипецкогоГПУ (под руководством проф.А.Бессудного),

которая уже несколько лет исследует памятник «Дивногорье-9» - место гибели древней лошади и стоянки древнего человека 14-12 тысяч лет назад. Нам удалось ознакомиться с работой этой экспедиции и коллекцией артефактов в музее.

         

Студенты школы прослушали лекции по истории и археологии Хазарского каганата (проф. А. Винников, проф. В. Петрухин, к.и.н. Б. Рашковский), лекции по этногенезу хазар и хазарским языкам (проф. И. Пейрос и д-р О.Мудрак) и лекции по салтово-маяцкой культуре (С.Владимиров). Большое внимание было уделено истории археологических исследований заповедника (д-р Е.Захарова), их актуальному состоянию, а также другим актуальным проблемам исследований в области хазароведения.

Участницей школы – Анной Юдкиной – было проведено несколько интервью со старожилами хутора, планируется проведение исследования по мемориализации места расстрела 13 венгерских евреев в Дивногорье в 1943 г.


Основным бонусом школы стали многочисленные экскурсии по пещерной архитектуре и археологическим памятникам невероятного по красоте и уникальности заповедника Дивногорье, а также мастер-классы по изготовлению керамики и древнего оружия.

Участники школы не только получили новые знания и интересный опыт, все буквально влюбились в этот необыкновенный уголок земли. Приятным сюрпризом для нас стало решение одной из новых участниц наших программ назвать своего питомца Сэфером! Вот он: 


Полная программа школы (нажмите на изображение)