Field School on Jewish Epigraphies in Moldova 

(August, 1-11 2019)

On August 1–11, 2019, a field school, an expedition on Jewish epigraphy in Moldova was conducted. The expedition was organized by the Center "Sefer" together with the Center for Slavic-Jewish Studies of the Institute of Slavic Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences with the support of the Genesis Philanthropy Group and the Russian Jewish Congress.
This year, the object of study was the Jewish cemetery of Orhei - one of the oldest and most famous Jewish necropolises in modern Moldova.


для заставки отчета1.JPG

15 young researchers from Belarus, Israel, Latvia, Moldova, Russia and Ukraine took part in the school-expedition on epigraphy in Orhei. Under the leadership of Ekaterina Karaseva (St. Petersburg) and Alexandra Fishel (Kiev), the supposedly oldest part of the Jewish cemetery in Orhei was cataloged. It is not possible to cover the entire cemetery within the framework of one expedition due to too many tombstones. In total, 914 monuments and their fragments were recorded.


IMG_7734.JPG  IMG_8336.JPG

It is important to note that the expedition participants found the matzevot described in the catalog of David Goberman, a well-known art historian, artist and ethnographer. He was involved in photographing carved tombstones in the existing and abandoned Jewish cemeteries of the former Jewish towns of Bessarabia, Northern Bukovina and Eastern Galicia (modern Moldova, Chernivtsi , Ivano-Frankivsk and Transcarpathian regions of Ukraine).

гроберман .JPG  гроберман наш.JPG 

гроберман лев кат.png  гроберман лев наша фотка кат.jpg

The result of the work at the cemetery was the compilation of a catalog of the site - photos of the monuments, fixing the size of the monument, describtion of  the decor and material, transcription of grave inscriptions, and also drawing up of a map. The earliest burial within the designated area dates from 1708. Based on the materials of the expedition, it is planned to prepare an electronic complete catalog of the cemetery, which will be available in the public domain on the SFIRA database website.


для заставки отчета4.JPG

The Sefer Center plans to continue cataloging the old site of Orhei cemetery in the next year..


Programm:

moldova_cover-1.jpg

Photos



On August 1-10, 2019 "Sefer" center organizes a field expedition on epigraphy in Moldova, with the support of Genesis Philanthropy Group and the Russian Jewish Congress. In the new field season, the center "Sefer" will continue to study the Jewish material heritage in the historical region of Bessarabia, started in 2017.

moldova_cover-1.jpg

This year the object of study will be the Jewish cemetery of Orgeev (Orhei), which is one of the oldest and largest Jewish necropolis in modern Moldova. The purpose of the expedition will be the documentation of the old site, which has preserved more than a thousand tombstones of XVII – XIX centuries. As a part of field work fixation of epitaph texts, photography and measurement of monuments will be carried out. In addition, a detailed map of the site will be made indicating the location of the tombstones.

рыбница 1.JPG

Students and young scientists who already have experience in epigraphic research, as well as those engaged in the study of the history and cultural heritage of Jews in the region are invited to participate in the school-expedition. Among the new participants, preference will be given to applicants with the skills of field and desk work, as well as knowledge of Hebrew. It is mandatory for all participants of the expedition to have their own notebook.

To participate in the school please complete the application form by May 15th. Selection of successful candidates will be performed by May 25th.

Полевая школа-экспедиция по эпиграфике в Молдове

1–11 августа 2019 г. прошла полевая школа-экспедиция по еврейской эпиграфике в Молдове. Экспедиция была организована Центром «Сэфер» совместно с Центром славяно-иудаики Института славяноведения РАН при поддержке Genesis Philanthropy Group и Российского еврейского конгресса.
В этом году объектом изучения стало еврейское кладбище Оргеева (Орхея) – одного из старейших и наиболее известных еврейских некрополей в современной Молдове.

для заставки отчета1.JPG

В школе-экспедиции по эпиграфике в г. Оргеев приняли участие 15 молодых исследователей из Белоруссии, Израиля, Латвии, Молдовы, России и Украины. В ходе работ под руководством Екатерины Карасевой (Санкт-Петербург) и Александры Фишель (Киев) была каталогизирована предположительно самая старая часть еврейского кладбища в Оргееве. Охватить все кладбище в рамках одной экспедиции не представляется возможным ввиду слишком большого количества захоронений. В общей сложности было зафиксировано 914 памятников и их фрагментов. 

IMG_7734.JPG  IMG_8336.JPG

Важно отметить, что участниками экспедиции были найдены мацевы, описанные в каталоге Давида Гобермана, известного искусствоведа, художника и этнографа, занимавшегося после войны фотографированием резных надгробий на действующих и заброшенных еврейских кладбищах бывших еврейских местечек Бессарабии, Северной Буковины и Восточной Галиции (современной Молдавии, Черновицкой, Ивано-Франковской и Закарпатской областей Украины). 

гроберман .JPG  гроберман наш.JPG 

гроберман лев кат.png  гроберман лев наша фотка кат.jpg

Итогом работы на кладбище является составление полного каталога участка – фото памятников, определение размеров памятника, описание декора и материала, фиксация намогильных надписей, а также составление карты. Наиболее раннее захоронение в пределах обозначенного участка датируется 1708 годом. По материалам экспедиции планируется подготовить электронный каталог кладбища, который будет размещён в открытом доступе на сайте базы данных SFIRA. 

для заставки отчета4.JPG

Центр «Сэфер» планирует продолжить каталогизацию старого участка оргеевского кладбища в будущем.

Программа школы:

moldova_cover-1.jpg


Видео-сюжет Центрального телевидения Молдовы об экспедиции:


В новом полевом сезоне Центр «Сэфер» продолжит исследование еврейского материального наследия в историческом регионе Бессарабии, начатое в 2017 году. Ранее, в ходе школы по еврейской этнографии и эпиграфике в Приднестровье, была проведена документация старого еврейского кладбища в Рашкове.
В этом году объектом изучения станет еврейское кладбище Оргеева (Орхея) – один из старейших и наиболее известных еврейских некрополей в современной Молдове. Целью экспедиции является документация старого участка кладбища, на котором, по разным данным, сохранилось от нескольких до десятка тысяч надгробий XVII – XIX вв. В ходе полевой работы исследователи будут фиксировать тексты эпитафий, а также проводить фотосъемку и измерение памятников. Кроме того, планируется составление подробной карты участка с указанием расположения надгробных стел.  

рыбница 1.JPG

Дешифровка собранных надгробных надписей позволит получить новые важные биографические и генеалогические сведения о еврейском населении старого Оргеева. Особый интерес для исследователей представляет также резной декор стел, многие из которых являются уникальными памятниками еврейского изобразительного искусства. В том числе у участников экспедиции будет редкая возможность увидеть надгробия, запечатлённые на знаменитых фотографиях, сделанных петербуржским художником и искусствоведом Д.Н. Гоберманом в середине XX в. 

К участию в школе-экспедиции приглашаются в первую очередь студенты и молодые учёные, уже имеющие опыт эпиграфических исследований, а также занимающиеся изучением истории, культурного наследия евреев в данном регионе. Среди новых участников предпочтение будет отдано претендентам с навыками полевой и камеральной работы, а также знанием иврита. Обязательным условием для всех участников экспедиции является наличие собственного ноутбука.

Чтобы принять участие в школе, пожалуйста, заполните анкету до 15 мая. Отбор будет произведен до 25 мая.