Ethnographic Field School in Rybnitsa


From August 1 to 10, an ethnographic expedition was held in Rybnitsa and Chisinau, devoted to the study of the theme: “Ribnitser Rebbe and the town of Rybnitsa (History of the Rybnitsa Jewish community in the Soviet and post-Soviet times)”. It was a joint project of the Center Sefer and the grant program of the Research Center of the Private Institution of Culture Jewish Museum and the Center for Tolerance (Moscow) with the financial support of A.I. Klyachin


 2.jpg

After the war, the last Hasidic tzaddik of Eastern Europe, Rabbi Haim-Zanvl Abramovich (1902 - 1995), a student of the Stefanesti rabbi, one of the rabbis of the Ruzhin Hasidic dynasty, lived for several decades in Rybnitsa. Chaim Zanvl Abramovich was deported to Rybnitsa from neighboring Bessarabia when the Romanian ghetto was formed in Rybnitsa in 1941. He remained here until 1973. His spiritual influence was significant not only for the small Moldavian city, but also for many people in the former Soviet Union. The Jewish religious leader in the city was also known to the non-Jewish inhabitants of Rybnitsa. According to our interviews, non-Jews also turned to him for advice or healing.


68454380_926648284371807_9137592357313576960_n.jpg

This was the third field season for the group of researchers to the town of Rybnitsa. In 2017and 2018 two ethnographic expeditions in Rybnitsa were conducted by the Center Sefer. The research were directed by Valery Dymshits and Maria Kaspina. A lot of material was collected on oral Jewish hagiographic tradition, about 70 interviews were recorded in Russian and, partially, in Yiddish (more than 100 hours of audio recordings in total).


GOPR4249.JPGiuswjF7V_Yo.jpg

Prof. Dov-Ber Kerler (Indiana University) participated in the expeditions of 2018 and 2019. He had previously recorded several interview in Yiddish in Rybnitsa back in 2005. In 2019, a group of 14 researchers worked in the town under the leadership of Dov-Ber Kerler, M. Kaspina and V. Dymshits. The expedition worked for a week in Rybnitsa itself and its environs, and for the last two days we met with former residents of Rybnitsa, living in Chisinau now.


GOPR4407.JPGGOPR4523.JPG

This new field season was very important for revealing the geography of spreading the stories about the Rybnitser rabbi. For example, in the large cities of Transnistria, in Bender, Tiraspol and Dubossary, despite our interrogations, not a single member of the Jewish community could tell anything about Chaim Zanvl. At the same time, in Kamenka, in Rashkov and Rybnitsa there was not a single local informant older than 50 years who would not hear anything about the Rybnitser rabbi.


.jpg

Methods of working with Jewish informants were many times tested during the expeditions of the Sefer Center. They were used to for realization of this project, as well as materials from an archive of historical and ethnographic memory in Yiddish (AHEYM). We have developed questionnaires, in Russian and Yiddish, covering the main topics that are significant for the traditional culture of the region and specifically the town of Rybnitsa. In addition, last year Maria Kaspina and Valery Dymshits developed a questionnaire about the identity of the Rybnitsky Rebbe.



On August 1-11, 2019, a field expedition school will be held in Rybnitsa (Transnistria), organized by the center "Sefer" and with the support of Genesis Philanthropy Group and the research group "RybnitsaRebbe and the city of Rybnitsa" (Ph. D. N. M. Kaspina, prof. DovberKerler, prof. V. Dymshits) with the support of the Jewish Museum and tolerance center grant for research activities in the framework of the charitable program "Research of history and culture of Jews in Russia (pre-Petrine Russia, the Russian Empire, the USSR and the post-Soviet space)".

 3.JPG

The field school in Rybnitsa will be a continuation of the research of the center "Sefer", which took place in this region in2008,2011,2017,2018. As the results of the previous activities here very interesting materials and memories of the famous RybnitsaRebbe, Chaim Zanvl Abramovich, who lived in the city from 1941 to 1972were collected. The presence of a bright religious leader in the city influenced not only the Jewish community of the city, the Rebbe was also known to non-Jewish residents of Rybnitsa, which gave rise to a large layer of non-Jewish folklore about Jews and their rabbis.

moldova_cover-1.jpg

The uniqueness of Rybnitsa lies in its location in the disputed political region, in which many phenomena of the Soviet era were preserved. Being between Ukraine and Moldova, Transnistria remained committed to the Russian language and Soviet culture. In the context of Jewish history for Transnistria is significant, the intersection of two historic regions of Podolia and Bessarabia, with their different folklore and ethnographic traditions, and in Transnistria preserved elements of the traditional Jewish culture, which is characteristic for both regions.
In 2019, we plan to work not only in Rybnitsa itself, but also in the surrounding cities: Rezina, Kolbasna, Dubossary, Grigoriopol, Kamenka, as well as in the former Jewish agricultural colony Gershunovka, and in a number of villages of Rybnitsa district.

 2.JPG


We invite those researchers who already have experience in field research (anthropology, ethnography, folklore, oral history) to participate in the school. The use of your own equipment (voice recorders, cameras, camcorders, laptops) is mandatory; knowledge of Yiddish will be an advantage in the selection procedure.

To participate in the school, pleasecomplete the application formbefore May 15. The selection will be made until May 25. For new participants, a personal Skype interview will be a mandatory qualifying stage after submitting the questionnaire.

Полевая школа-экспедиция по этнографии в Рыбнице


С 1 по 10 августа в Рыбнице и Кишиневе состоялась этнографическая экспедиция, посвященная исследованию темы: «Рыбницкий ребе и город Рыбница (История рыбницкой еврейской общины в советское и постсоветское время)». Это был совместный проект центра «Сэфер» и  грантовой программы Исследовательского центра Частного учреждения культуры «Еврейский музей и Центр толерантности» (Москва) при финансовой поддержке А.И. Клячина».

рыбница 2.jpg

После войны в Рыбнице прожил несколько десятилетий последний хасидский цадик Восточной Европы, ребе Хаим-Занвл Абрамович (1902 – 1995), ученик Штефанештского ребе, одного из раввинов Ружинской хасидской династии. Хаим-Занвл Абрамович был депортирован в Рыбницу из соседней Бессарабии, когда в Рыбнице было сформировано румынское гетто в 1941 году, и остался здесь до 1973 года. Его духовное влияние было значимо не только для небольшого молдавского города, но и для многих в бывшем советском союзе. О еврейском религиозном лидере в городе было известно и нееврейским жителям Рыбницы, к нему, по данным интервью, обращались за советом или исцелением и неевреи. 

68454380_926648284371807_9137592357313576960_n.jpg

Это была третья поездка исследователей в город Рыбница. В 2017 – 2018 гг. Центр «Сэфер» провел в Рыбнице две этнографических экспедиции под руководством В. Дымшица и М. Каспиной. Был собран большой материал по устной еврейской агиографической традиции, записано около 70 интервью на русском языке и, частично, на идише (всего более 100 часов аудиозаписей). 

GOPR4249.JPG  iuswjF7V_Yo.jpg

В работе экспедиции принял участие проф. Дов-Бер Керлер (Indiana University), который начал записывать интервью в Рыбнице на идише еще в 2005 г. В 2019 году в городе работала группа из 14 исследователей под руководством Дов-Бер Керлера, М. Каспиной и В. Дымшица. Неделю экспедиция работала в самой Рыбнице и окрестностях, а два последних дня мы встречались с рыбничанами, живущими в Кишиневе. 

GOPR4407.JPG  GOPR4523.JPG

Новый полевой сезон был очень важен для выявления географию распространения рассказов о рыбницком ребе. Скажем, в крупных городах Приднестровья, в Бендерах,  Тирасполе и Дубоссарах, несмотря на наши расспросы, ни один из членов еврейской общины не смог ничего рассказать о Хаим-Занвле. В то же время, в Каменке, в Рашкове и Рыбнице не было ни одного местного информанта старше 50 лет, который ничего не слышал бы о рыбницком раввине. 

семинар.jpg

Для реализации проекта использовались методы работы с еврейскими информантами, многократно апробированные в ходе экспедиций центра «Сэфер», а также архива исторической и этнографической памяти на языке идиш (AHEYM). Это разработанные опросники, на русском и идише, охватывающие основные темы, значимые для традиционной культуры региона и конкретно города Рыбницы. Дополнительно в прошлом году М. Каспиной и В. Дымшицем был разработан опросник о личности «Рыбницкого ребе».


Видеоролик об экспедиции в Рыбницу:



1–11 августа 2019 г. состоится полевая школа-экспедиция по этнографии в Приднестровье, организованная Центром «Сэфер» совместно с Центром славяно-иудаики Института славяноведения РАН при поддержке Genesis Philanthropy Group и исследовательской группой «Рыбницкий ребе и город Рыбница» (к.ф.н. М. Каспина, проф. Дов Бер Керлер, проф. В. Дымшиц) в рамках грантовой программы Исследовательского центра Частного учреждения культуры «Еврейский музей и Центр толерантности» (Москва) при финансовой поддержке А.И. Клячина. 

рыбница 3.JPG

Полевая школа в Рыбнице будет продолжением исследований Центра «Сэфер», которые проходили в этом регионе в 2008201120172018 гг. По результатам работы здесь были собраны очень интересные материалы и воспоминания об известном Рыбницком ребе, Хаиме Занвле Абрамовиче, который жил в городе с 1941 по 1972 годы. Наличие яркого религиозного лидера в городе повлияло не только на еврейскую общину города, ребе был известен и нееврейским жителям Рыбницы, что породило большой пласт нееврейского фольклора о евреях и их раввинах. 

moldova_cover-1.jpg

Специфика г. Рыбница заключается в его расположении в спорном политическом регионе, в котором оказались законсервированы многие явления советской эпохи. Находясь между Украиной и Молдавией, Приднестровье сохранило приверженность русскому языку и советской культуре. В контексте еврейской истории для Приднестровья значимо пересечение двух исторических регионов – Подолья и Бессарабии, с их различными фольклорно-этнографическими традициями, причем в Приднестровье сохранились элементы традиционной еврейской культуры, характерные для обоих регионов. 

В 2019 году мы планируем работать не только в самой Рыбнице, но и в окружающих ее городах: Резина, Колбасна, Дубоссары, Григориополь, Каменка, а также в бывшей еврейской сельскохозяйственной колонии Гершуновка, и в ряде сел Рыбницкого района. 

рыбница 2.JPG


Мы приглашаем к участию в школе тех исследователей, у кого уже есть опыт полевых исследований (антропология, этнография, фольклористика, устная история). Обязательно использование собственной техники (диктофонов, фотоаппаратов, видеокамер, ноутбуков); преимуществом при отборе участников будет знание идиша. 

Чтобы принять участие в школе, пожалуйста, заполните анкету до 15 мая. Отбор будет произведен до 25 мая. Для новых участников обязательным отборочным этапом после подачи анкеты будет личное собеседование по скайпу.